Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

Shape Your Own Nose

Hello Dear Followers,

So I’ve had the chance in the last week to get pretty far in “Pride and Prejudice” and I have to share that I think that these people have nothing absolutely nothing better to do with their time. I know it’s a different time and things were different, but I couldn’t help but want to shake Elizabeth Bennet about her reasons for being angry at Mr. Darcy.

Why is it any of her business how he has treated people she doesn’t know, while she has valid reason to detest him for his intervening with her sister’s relationship, I just wanted to tell her so many times, mind your own business and worry about yourself?

I found that all the characters in this book are so consumed with other people’s lives and what so-so may think of them. Who cares? Really, who cares? How is it anyone’s business to mettle in other people’s lives for?

Movie version of Mr. Darcy

I don’t have a read on Mr. Darcy, I am not quite sure what I feel about him yet, I can definitely however, see why there are so many books out there now about Mr. Darcy and his family. I don’t feel like Jane Austen thus far has given enough character description other than to say he is arrogent among his other characteristics. Maybe I haven’t gotten far enough yet to learn more about him.

I think this book is good, I feel however so far that the problems these people have are trivial. There is much more to life. I’ve been saying that a lot lately. Oh well, until next time. I hope to have this book finished by Feb. 1 :-)

Until next time.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Shape Your Own Nose

  1. Jillian ♣ on said:

    I think it’s important to remember that you’re seeing Mr. Darcy — and all of the characters — through Elizabeth’s eyes. So the fact that they aren’t very clear as people, and that the relevations about them seem pretty petty, might tell you something about Elizabeth and what Austen might be trying to say about society in her day…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 883 other followers

