Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

Two of the Best Storytellers

Hello Dear Followers,

Tonight’s post won’t be about “Pride and Prejudice” (still need to finish it this week)  it will be about two influential storytellers I’ve grown up with that have brought me both joy and laughter in my life.

The first storyteller is not a book author, but a comedienne, she wrote her own autobiography, but her story telling came in the form of a classic television sitcom each week that brought laughter to the masses.

The other storyteller is a book author of children’s books, she is loved by generations of young girls and the telling of her life story led to a series of wonderful books and later a television series.

This weekend for my birthday two good friends gave me two books on each of these storytellers commemorating who they were and what they brought to those who loved them.

Lucille Ball

Lucille Ball, the star of many sitcoms including “I Love Lucy” and “The Lucy Show” among others brought much laughter to my life. I have watched each “I Love Lucy” episode more than once and own the complete DVD set the series.  She played the part of a housewife to Ricky Ricardo played by real life husband Desi Arnaz.  This show was on for six seasons during the 1950s and her talent continues to influence new generations of people.  Sayings like “Oh Ricky”… and “Ewww” where she  scrunches her face is priceless among many others.

About two years ago, I had the pleasure, the absolute pleasure to meet her daughter Lucie Arnaz, I have to admit I was beside myself, in the hour or so I was in her presence I couldn’t help but tell her how much I adored her parents and what meant to me to meet her, the daughter of a famous television couple like Lucy and Desi.

Laura Ingalls Wilder

Laura Ingalls Wilder, author of  the “The Little House” series was a series I could read over and over again, especially “The Long Winter” and “These Happy Golden Years” I loved those two the most. I read them numerous times through out my childhood, I am not sure whether it was my being such a romantic ( I couldn’t wait for her to fall in love with Almanzo Wilder) or my love of history but she was such a wonderful writer.  If I could I would have loved to have met this woman in person, I would have loved to talk to her about her books. She made the trials and tribulations of childhood more worthwhile. I recommend everyone read this series.

Until next time…

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Two of the Best Storytellers

  1. Jillian ♣ on said:

    Totally agree – on both. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 887 other followers

