Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

My trip to Hartford

Hello Dear Followers,

Uncle Tom's Cabin

I wanted to post tonight about my day trip to Hartford, Conn.,  I visited Harriet Beecher Stowe’s home also now known as The Harriet Beecher Stowe Center on Friday and I had such a great time.  I have to admit, I didn’t know much about this author other than that she wrote “Uncle Tom’s Cabin.”  But I learned so much about her during my time up there yesterday, I found her to be ahead of her time and inspiring in so many ways, very much like other female authors I’ve come to know and love over the years.

“Uncle Tom’s Cabin” was written in 1852 and gives its readers a detailed description at injustice and inhumanity in this country in discussing the anti-slavery movement.   The book according to the back cover sold 10,000 copies its first week and 300,000 in its first year.

I am looking forward to reading this for this blog at some point soon! If you would like to read more about Harriet Beecher Stowe,  please check out http://www.countytimes.com., later this week for my story in honor of Women’s History Month.

I also wanted to touch base with you about “Much Ado About Loving,” I haven’t found this book to be interesting at all, I don’t feel the authors are telling the reader anything new that we haven’t heard before about relationships, sex, online dating etc.  The only thing I have to say I am enjoying is the creation of a list I am making of all these books I want. One of  the authors spoke so highly of “War and Peace” by Leo Tolstoy, I was thisclose to buying it in the book store, he shared the same feelings I did about my failed attempt to read Anna Karenina, and so I felt I had someone to share my woes about this book (I will get back to that book I promise!!) haha.

Until next time (soon! I swear) :-)

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 883 other followers

