Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

My Elizabeth Gilbert Experience

Hello Dear Followers,

Liz1

Me, Elizabeth Gilbert and my friend Jaimie

It has been a while, and sadly I have not gotten any farther than I was when I last wrote to all of you.  Still trying to get through “American Wife” by Curtis Sittenfeld and “Quiet” by Susan Cain.  I am itching to finish both!

I couldn’t resist sharing with all of you about my Elizabeth Gilbert experience this weekend.  In case you have been living under a rock and don’t know who she is, she is the author of “Eat, Pray, Love.”  It was a memoir she wrote in 2006 about her spiritual year-long journey to Italy, India and Indonesia.

When I read that book and the book that followed – “Committed,”  I continued to be inspired by her spirituality, her strength and bravery.

I was so lucky this past weekend to meet her at Sacred Heart University in Fairfield,  Conn.,  where  she spoke about her newest book “The Signature of All Things”  which tells the story Alma Whittaker, a botanist born in 1800 and of the Whittakers, a family of botanical explorers, during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

I will admit I have not read the book yet, just got it a few weeks ago, but I am excited to begin once I finish my other books.

I found Liz  to be just fabulous.  She was funny and witty, during her talk she made some of the best of analogies that explained life perfectly – both hers and others.  My friend Jaimie and I jokingly decided we had girl crushes on this author.  Liz spoke to everyone who asked her a question like she knew them forever, they weren’t just audience members, but friends.

What I loved about that was it made asking my question about wanting to write a book so much easier and she is the second author that has seriously made me think about beginning writing for myself again regularly – (I may even carry a journal with me wherever I go.)

She told the mainly-women filled audience a lot of things about herself and life that I found very helpful.  She said anything that you fight will fight you back.  There isn’t anything more attractive than someone whose feet doesn’t fully touch the ground.  She said women have a tremendous capacity to be resilient in the face of a ruin.

I really just simply enjoyed hearing this woman who has traveled the world and found herself in the most spiritual of places is truly something to strive for.  When I asked her about what it took to begin writing a book, she first asked me which direction I wanted to go towards fiction or non-fiction. I knew immediately I want to write a non-fiction novel, about what part of my life, I am not sure.

She further answered mine and my friend’s question the next day on her Facebook page by asking the question “What are you willing to give up, in order to have what you really want?”

Liz3

Me and Elizabeth Gilbert

What I loved most even days before is that this prolific author will answer you on her Facebook page, I mean I don’t know any author/celebrity person who takes the time to answer their followers.  It just made her reachable and real and I just loved that.

This blog post definitely doesn’t do the talk full justice, but I personally just want to thank Liz for a delightful evening filled with so many enlightened teachings.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My Elizabeth Gilbert Experience

  1. I met her last week when she was in Northern California. She signed my books and we took a picture too! It was an awesome event!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 887 other followers

