Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

It’s Human Nature

“Stupid Men are the only ones worth knowing, after all”- Pride & Prejudice

Hello Dear Followers,

I’m a little later than I thought I would be to sit down and write this post, but better late than never. I have been toying with what I was going to talk about for this post a lot this last week, because a lot of thoughts have run through my mind about people, relationships, marriage, past and present.

During Elizabeth Bennet’s time, the ultimate goal so it seems, was to find a suitable partner with whom you would marry. The courtship was quite drawn out and family was very much involved (her mother annoys me tremendously in this book).

Today, the goal has changed a bit, marriage is a much harder goal to reach. It is complicated, it is difficult to find a suitable partner who wants and shares the same goals as you do and is successful and and attractive.

Unlike women in Miss Bennet’s time, we have more freedom, we don’t have to get married, we are liberated, but with our liberation come more ties that bind. Our mothers have taught us to go after what we want, to know what we deserve and never ever settle. This generation of 20 something year olds looking for marriage are at a disadvantage because we want too much, we need too much and we are picky.

Miss Bennet’s time was a lot simpler. And I believe the character of Miss Bennet showed the independence we see in women today, she was not upset by refusing her first marriage proposal, she knew she deserved better, and she did.

“The more I see the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of either merit or sense.”

I can’t agree more with this quote above. Miss Bennet’s sister Jane thinks she is on her way to the alter only to be miserably disappointed by the man she fell for. Does this sound any different than what we deal with today? I don’t think so.

My question to all of my dear readers, is what makes finding someone who will be good to you, love you and share a lot of the same similarities so hard? This discussion can be taken down so many avenues. No one knows. I’d love to hear what you think.

Do we lack respect for ourselves so men don’t have to try so hard? But in Miss Bennet sister’s case in the story, she was still left behind and this was 200 years ago?! What do you make of that?

I also realized that people talking about relationships, especially women hasn’t changed, we still do it. We still analyze, gossip and wonder about the opposite sex regularly. I found it hilarious the way these women spoke, because they aren’t too far behind us in their thoughts about relationships. We still compete with other women, we still cry and get angry over the person we feel the most connected with. It’s human nature.

I have to add that I found the father incredibly funny, he provided such light hearted speech through out this whole book. He was the comic relief, he was the reminder that these problems are not problems at all, just hurdles in everyday life that we need to try and conquer. I also have to say that we as women, we talk too much, I realized this fact in reading this book so far. There is so much more to life.

Until next time…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

