Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

You Didn’t Need to Churn Butter

Hello Dear Followers,

After my post last week, I realized I had more to say about “The Wilder Life” because as I continue to read, I never heard of anyone so enthralled by an author as Ms. McClure is with Laura Ingalls Wilder.

She churned butter just to live a little bit in Laura’s life, in every chapter so far she has connected herself to the Ingalls family in some way. I found myself wanting to join her and back away from her at the same time.

Don’t get me wrong, I too have immersed myself for a day of author Louisa May Alcott’s  life (Little Women), wondered what it must have been like to have walked the same streets as she did, wondered how different it was during her time.  But I feel Ms.  McClure’s love is taken to a whole other level, and I am not sure what to call it.

I do commend her for her painstaking approach to detail and research. She has made me want to pull out my books and re-read, (I don’t re-read, but she has made me want to seriously consider it. Maybe a summer of Laura perhaps?

I am very much enjoying this book, I think Ms. McClure is funny and I think she speaks true to what most of us at some point or another thought about the Laura Ingalls Wilder books.  I am not finished yet, but I am getting there and I look forward to sharing my thoughts on the final post for this book.

Until next time…

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

