Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

The Hunger Games

Hello Dear Followers,

It looks like I am joining the bandwagon of those reading “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins.  I was undecided about my next book choice and so I left it up to my Facebook followers last week to tell me what they thought I should read next. (I encourage all of you to visit my Facebook page at – https://www.facebook.com/BooksFromMyCloset by the way 🙂 )

The choices were “The Hunger Games,” “The Help” or “The Grapes of Wrath” and my followers chose Ms. Collins popular young adult novel.

The book takes place in the ruins of what was once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by 12 outlying districts.  The Capitol, according to the back of the book, is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live television. Sixteen-year old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games.

I won’t go any further than I have, my followers will definitely hear more from me about the book. I hope you will enjoy my posts about this book and I look forward to finishing it in time to catch the movie before it goes to DVD.

I have to admit, I saw the preview to the movie when the Twilight Saga’s Breaking Dawn came out last November and truly didn’t know what to make of the movie. I didn’t even know it was based on a series of books.

I’d love to hear your feedback about these books as I am sure most of my followers on here have read this already.

Until next time..

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. stuartneaca291 on said:

    Not sure if I’ll get around to reading the books, but I got to see The Hunger Games with my nephew and nieces. The movie, at least, was pretty good, I thought. I knew nothing about the books, but the movie sounded like the Running Man from the 80s. Not sure if I will blog review the movie. But I give it a 4 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

