Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

The Content of Your Character

Hello Dear Followers,

So I have been catching up on “The Help” still so behind, but I’ve given a bit of time to get closer to finishing it. But I wanted to write briefly tonight about how  I really enjoyed the author’s ability to weave actual historical events into a work of fiction.  I have noticed this through out the book.

I also enjoyed just continuously learning more about a very difficult time in our nation’s history. A time when protests were prominent, black people didn’t receive the rights they deserved simply because of the color of their skin.  How horribly segregated they were.

In my opinion, I kept thinking how ignorant we were then, I feel there was such a lack of education about race and equality during the 1960s.  As I continued to read I began to think what if it never changed? What if we were still so segregated? While there is still so much prejudice today, we have come so far in the last 50 or so years.

Black people lived in such fear everyday and the ones that took risks in their beliefs (i.e. Medgar Evers and Martin Luther King Jr. were assassinated). I feel they would be proud of how far we’ve come.

Until next time…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

