Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Hello Dear Followers,

The book I am choosing as my August book choice is “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.  It is January 1946, London is emerging from the shadow of theSecond World War and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject.  Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’d never met, a native of Guernsey, the British Island once occupied by the Nazis. He’d come across her name on the flyleaf of a secondhand volume by Charles Lamb.  Perhaps she could tell him where he might more books by this author. As Juliet and her new coorespondent exchange letters, she is drawn into the world of this man and his friends, all members of Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a unique book club formed in a unique, spur-of-the-moment way: as an alibi to protect its members from arrest by the Germans, according to the book.

Not too long ago, I realized that we don’t write letters anymore, like real letters as in paper and pen? And this book celebrates the art of letter writing and the love of books. What could be more wonderful? (For me anyway) 🙂

I hope you will read along with me. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with my followers for this book.

Until next time..

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

  1. booketta on said:

    I have this on my TBR. Look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

