Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

Escape to Guernsey

Hello Dear Followers,

I finished “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” tonight and wanted to share my final thoughts about the book.

I thought overall it was a sweet book, it was quaint at times and teetered a little on boring.  I did however, find myself craving an opportunity to read it throughout the day, brought it with me everywhere as a chance to escape to 1940s Guernsey just after World War II. 

Photo courtesy of http://www.oldUKphotos.com

I tend to enjoy escaping into novels that take place in a  different time period, especially a time period I know little about.  While at first I thought the constant correspondence between the characters via letter writing dragged the book a bit, it gave it character and personality that you may not have gotten if the book been made up of chapters.

The characters in the book will become your friends, you will want to join them for their literary meetings and want to be part of this circle of friends that would ultimately become family.

You will want to travel to the Channel Islands of the British Isles and see Guernsey for yourself once you read this book.  The authors do a great job at making this place seem magical in a time of such darkness.

I love history so learning what I could about the German occupation on this island and a little more about the Nazi concentration camps was fascinating and terribly sad at the same time, I can’t imagine going through something like that.  These poor people.

I have heard  bits and pieces about World War II  from my grandparents every now and then,  but they were young when it was happening around them in Italy.  They remember only so little about it.

I would recommend this book for its simplicity, its escapism and its character. If you are looking for something more enticing however, this isn’t it.  I kept waiting for something more to happen that would consider this book a page turner, but it never came.

Until next time…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

