Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

Elizabeth Gilbert: A True 19th Century Writer!

Hello Dear Followers,

I finally finished “The Signature Of All Things” by Elizabeth Gilbert and words can’t describe how much I enjoyed this book! I have not read a book that carries the reader from birth (or pre-birth) to death like Liz does.  What I loved about reading this book, is that it even though it is a big book (500 pages) it reads so easily and surprises you when you least expect it.

When you’re reading Liz’s book, you can’t help but feel as if you are reading a 19th century writer, she got the voice of her characters perfectly and brings you into the story to a point where you find yourself thinking about it for hours after you’ve stopped reading.

For those that don’t know anything about this book, it tells the story of Alma Whittaker, a 19th century botanist that comes into her own in the world of plants and evolution.  I really connected to this character, and I have to admit at first I didn’t think this would be possible, given all the mention of science.  But it reads so easily that you won’t be able to put it down.

Liz definitely did her homework when it came to the research for this book, I can only imagine what went into learning all there was to learn about mosses and botany as a whole.

I will say that throughout reading the book, there was such a sad undertone, so many of the characters, especially Alma had made so many sacrifices in their lives and lost so much.  You will have to read it to understand more about what I am talking about here.

This book is definitely worth a re-read and it is definitely a book that belongs alongside books like “Pride and Prejudice,” “Jane Erye” and “Wuthering Heights.”  Liz is the master of the written word and deserves a major applause for this book!  I can’t wait to see what she will be writing next!

Until next time!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

