Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

The Next 50 Pages of Big Magic

Hello Dear Followers,

As I read the next 50 pages of “Big Magic” by Elizabeth Gilbert, so many thoughts came to my mind.  This book,  is very much like a tutorial on living a creative life and has been at times all over the place with thoughts and ideas that it was often hard to keep up.

Here are some main points that caught my eye that I think are worth sharing:

The Birth of the Idea:  Have you ever thought of an idea and didn’t do anything to execute it? And later you see someone else executing the exact same idea, and you’re like I just thought of that?  But it’s too late.

In her book, Liz explains that ideas look for human collaborators and that they move from one soul to the other looking for the quickest and most swiftest conduit.

Big MagicWhen it comes to my own writing,  over the years I have had so many ideas floating around. One year I wanted to write a fiction novel, another year I wanted to write a memoir, but felt I was too young to tell my life story, or that it wasn’t exciting enough.  Now, I am at a point where I am not thinking about what others are going to say or do. I am not so hell-bent on pleasing others with my work.

I simply want to tell people my story, I want to inspire people with my journey.  I don’t care if my idea has been written about already, it definitely has, but not from my mouth.  Liz is a big proponent of this, she has written plenty of times in this book about not worrying about whether what you plan to write about has already been done before, it hasn’t been done from you.

Have you found yourself astonished when you meet someone who shares the same thought process as you, or mirrors back the thoughts you think about daily?  That’s because your ideas and thoughts are not as foreign as you might think, they are like everyone else’s.

It’s all about how you plan to execute those thoughts and ideas that set you apart from the rest.  Liz talks about how she had an idea for a book at one point in her career only to find out a good friend of hers had a very similar almost exact idea.

I firmly believe ideas and thoughts have energy, I believe we are all connected with the people we meet in life, even if the people we meet are only here for a little while or our whole lives, we are all connected.

You Have the Permission: We all have permission to live creatively. Liz talks about her up bringing in this book, and how she decided to become a writer.

I can still remember when I knew I wanted to be a writer, it was a little after I had gotten my first journal. I remember thinking at the young age of 6 or 7 probably, “What can I do with my life that involves writing?” And once I found out being a journalist is what I could do, (because being a novelist never crossed my mind for some odd reason)  I just did it.  I loved to write, it was such an outlet for me.  It was a chance to pour out my thoughts and ideas about life without the fear of judgement or ridicule.

So as years went on that’s what I knew I was going to be when I grew up.  I was going to be a writer. That was that.  I went to college for journalism, got a job in a newspaper and worked tirelessly at it.  I have never been one who enjoyed being the center of attention, but I wanted to capture people’s attention with my writing. I wanted people to read something I had written and know who I was.

You can imagine how many copies of the newspaper I got the first time I saw my name in print!.  Like Liz, I don’t come from a family of writers nor did anyone really dispute my becoming one.  I would often wonder who I took after, and realized I must be like my Dad. While he worked in construction most of his life,  he is an artist too. He is an artist of music and art.  He enjoys culture and history very much like I do.

My mother enjoyed reading and was pretty good with her writing skills, but she was more business oriented, more of a go-getter type.

What I didn’t realize about living this creative life, was that you don’t make much money. You don’t live a comfortable life as others do, but its the love of the craft that gets you through.  As a newspaper journalist I wanted to tell someone’s story, I wanted my words to inspire someone, I wanted to be remembered for my work.  I knew that this was one thing no one could take from me.

Entitlement Mentality: Liz talks about how entitlement can have negative connotations, but when it comes to living a creative life, we are entitled to do so. She says that what keeps you from living a creative life is self-doubt, self-judgement, self-disgust.

I can certainly relate to that, in the beginning of my career I would often come home crying thinking what in God’s name am I doing? I am not a writer, I am a fraud. I would say things like “I am not talented like my editor” “I don’t care about the things other journalists do.”  I should leave this field altogether, what am I doing?

I had forgotten what I was doing this for, I had forgotten how much I loved the craft, how much I wanted to tell the story.  I never wanted to be intrusive, but I wanted to tell the story.  I may not have had all the technical mechanics (I still don’t) of a good writer, but my love for it is what drives me today.

Until next time dear followers!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

