Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

Finally Finished American Wife

 

Image courtesy of http://www.ew.com

It’s late and I just finished “American Wife”  by Curtis Sittenfeld. I have been reading this book for almost three years now.  I am not sure if it was my lack of focus, my disinterest in the story past page 62 or what, but I finally finished it.

Ok, that’s a lie, I didn’t truly authentically finish it.  I skimmed the last 30 to 40 pages and said, “That’s it I’m done, I can’t take it anymore.”  No offense to Ms. Sittenfeld, I think the story was great, but honestly it was just too long for a story that had so many dull moments.

I think the premise of the story was great, I really do,  a fictional/non-fictional story about the life of Laura Bush,  excellent story.  You got a good look at life as a First Lady, the fictional life of Laura Bush, but the author talked way too much, to a point where I forgot what she was talking about when she would recapture a memory from 200 pages ago.

A lot of my friends (those who read anyway) believe that if you are this dissatisfied with a book, you should just quit reading it.  The idea of that bothers me, because I feel that every book we open should be completed entirely.

However, I just couldn’t anymore.  It kept me from reading other books or at the very least enjoying them because I felt guilty for not having finished this one.  So at this ungodly hour of 1:33 a.m. I have decided I am finished.

I don’t think she is a bad author, I just think she could cut her stories down a bit, a lot less talking.

 

Until next time!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

