Books From My Closet

"I Love Books The Way Some Girls Love Shoes"

One Word: Survival

Hello Dear Followers,

I have begun reading “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed.  So far, so good. It’s a memoir which tells the story about how Strayed embarked on a hiking trip through the Pacific Crest Trail which is a 1,100 trail which spans the states of California / Oregon / Washington, USA / British Columbia, Canada. She started this journey in 1995 in an effort for “self-discovery” after losing her mother.

I found the story to be very fascinating, brave and eye-opening, because here is this young woman embarking on a journey she has never embarked on before (this reminds me of another woman I have read... let’s see if you can guess who I am thinking about, they’re friends too!).

So the first chapter, the one word that kept circulating throughout my mind was – SURVIVAL.  This word is ingrained in this woman’s DNA. She has had to know how to survive since she was a young girl, through many trials her family faced.  Whether it was poverty, an abusive father, and later a sick mother. Survival didn’t begin when she decided to take this trip, that is definitely for sure.

Is survival always that hard like Cheryl’s? No. Survival can be simply dealing with our own inner demons that get claw their way into our minds on a daily basis, and waking up every morning is survival.  Our lives however, aren’t meant be survived, they are meant to be lived.

Anyway, I plan to continue on after I finish this post with “Wild” if you are joining along with me, or have read the book already, please feel free to chime in!

Until next time…

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

